Questions? Call 212.366.5053

crème de la crème

 

Our early childhood program is led by and inspired through collaboration between our school director, pedagogista, atelierista, and student development coordinator. Their vision is masterfully carried out by our team of superb teachers. Our roles and visions continually evolve as we interact with and observe our children and reexamine our understanding of educational and psychological theory. Through this self-reflective approach, we synthesize contemporary pedagogy with our personal understanding of each and every child.

Professional, dedicated, and loving- these words speak volumes about the team at Preschool of the Arts. Equipped with years of study and professional experience, our staff strives continuously to respond to the individual needs of each child. Employing cutting-edge methodology and liberal doses of warm, loving care, our staff creates activities that engage children’s natural curiosities.

As Anatole France once said, “The whole art of teaching is only the art of awakening the natural curiosity of young minds for the purpose of satisfying it afterwards.” Teachers inspired by the Reggio approach to early childhood education believe that children’s innate desire to interact with others greatly affects both cognitive and social development. With that in mind, Preschool of the Arts’ staff creates a supportive environment conducive to the co-construction of knowledge between teachers and children. As co-constructors, our teachers have multiple, fluid roles as collaborators, researchers, and learners based on the needs of the children and the demands of the explorative learning activity.

 

 

Sarah Rotenstreich
Head of School

IMG_9716.JPG

A highly regarded early childhood educator, leader and author, Sarah has a respected reputation that extends nationally and internationally.

An expert in child development and academic skill-building, Sarah authored Curriculum of the Arts, a holistic preschool curriculum used by over 300 schools worldwide. Passionate about sharing the latest in contemporary early childhood education, she has also lectured to thousands of educators at an International Directors Conference and conducted many workshops at Reggio-inspired conferences for educators. A consultant for hundreds of schools around the globe, she has actively supported the establishment of quality Early Childhood programs throughout the US, Asia, Canada and Israel.   Read more...

 

Directors

 
IMG_9609.JPG

Chaya Tamir, M.S. Ed.
Chelsea/Flatiron Director

director@nycpreschool.org
212-229-9075

IMG_9766.JPG

Sarah O'Halloran, M.S. Ed.
Gramercy Park Director &
Director of Admissions
sohalloran@nycpreschool.org
212-677-7375

Miri Karisik, M.S. Ed Greenwich Village Director miri@nycpreschool.org

Miri Karisik, M.S. Ed
Greenwich Village Director
miri@nycpreschool.org

 

 
IMG_9741.JPG

Chloe Gottlieb, M.S. Ed.
Cooper Sq. Director

chloe@nycpreschool.org
212-533-1822

IMG_9683_1.JPG

Batya Preger
Gramercy Park Co-Director

Batya@nycpreschool.org
212-677-7375

 
 

Operations

 

Elana Steltzer
Learning Specialist & Music Instructor

elana@nycpreschool.org
212-229-9075


 
IMG_9673.JPG

Anna Bashkatova
Chelsea Administration

anna@nycpreschool.org

 
IMG_9686.JPG

Chaya Mushka Kahanov
Finances

chayam@nycpreschool.org
212-229-9075

IMG_9684.JPG

Rachel Chernick
Cooper Sq. Administration
rachel@nycpreschool.org

 
IMG_9571.JPG

Leah Malka Weinstein
Atelierista

info@nycpreschool.org
212-229-9075

IMG_9775.JPG

Julie Barel
Flatiron Administration

julie@nycpreschool.org

 

Educators

Chelsea and Flatiron

Cooper Square

Gramercy Park